London mayor election: Sadiq Khan clinches historic third term


Labour's Sadiq Khan has officially won a landmark third successive term as mayor of London, Paralel.Az reports quoting BBC.

Mr Khan, who was first elected in May 2016, beat his Conservative rival Susan Hall by more than 276,000 votes - representing a swing of 3.2% to Labour.

He won nine of the 14 constituencies including two gains from the Tories.

More than 2.4m votes were cast reflecting a turnout of 42.8% - ever so slightly down compared to the 2021 mayoral election.